The Rock Show

Series: Neutron Stars
Interest Age: 13 - Adult
Reading Age: 6 to 7 Years Old
Published: 14 June 2018
AR Book Level: MY 1.9
Book Band: Orange
Catch Up Level: TBC
Lexile Level: TBC
Words: 527 words

Availability: In stock

Paperback (format)
ISBN: 9781785914324
Ebook (format)
ISBN: 9781785914621


Jaz has split up with Kris and he is upset. But tonight Jack is playing at the Rock Show. It is the biggest gig in town. The Rock Show is a low level phonics reading book. Beautifully illustrated throughout, this fiction story features a fully decodable text, suitable for struggling teen and adult readers.

The Rock Show uses a carefully limited set of letters and sounds to make up all the words. (For UK schools this relates to Phase 5 of Letters and Sounds, the UK Government's synthetic phonics reading programme.)

The Rock Show is part of Ransom's Neutron Stars, a structured reading programme for teens and adults learning the basics of reading. The series offers progression through ten levels of reading, four phonics and six coloured book bands.

More information on the structure of the scheme can be found here.