Microwave Shakespeare Pack 1

Stephen Rickard, Barbara Catchpole

Series: Microwave Shakespeare
Interest Age: 11 - 16 Years old
Reading Age: 8 - 9 Years old
Published: 12 December 2018
AR Book Level: TBC
Book Band: TBC
Catch Up Level: TBC
Lexile Level: TBC
Pages: 52pp
Words: See individual title
Pack (format)
ISBN: 9781785913495

Availability: In stock


* Required Fields


Microwave Shakespeare Pack 1 is a collection of the first nine titles published in this series. The plays covered include all the key plays studied in schools for GCSE and together form a great introduction to Shakespeare's plays.

These books are perfect as an introduction before studying the play, for revision purposes and for reluctant and struggling readers. Each play is retold as a straightforward, pacey narrative in chapter-book format. The books use the present tense and lots of dialogue (in present-day English) to recrate the experience of actually watching the play.

The texts follow the original plays faithfully so students can acquire an accurate understanding of the action and plot. Memorable quotations from the original text (in italics) make these books perfect for exam crammers! Plus each book includes visual information to help pupils get to grips with the plot, the key characters and their important relationships in the play. The stories are all presented in the period of the play but with modern day language.

Written by three award winning writers Barbara Catchpole, Stephen Rickard and Jill Atkins, these are really accessible books. They are perfect for getting all pupils, whatever their ability, comfortable with each play before they go on to study it in its original form and a great all round introduction to Shakespeare.

This pack contains one copy of each of the following books from the Microwave Shakespeare Series:

Romeo and Juliet
A Midsummer Night's Dream
The Merchant of Venice
Twelfth Night
Much Ado About Nothing
The Tempest
Julius Caesar